Deeper Into Photography w/ Tiana “Tee” Anderson


Tiana Anderson a.k.a Tee
20
From Brooklyn ,NY 
Currently in Silver Springs, MD
Email : tee.chrishelle@gmail.com
Twitter : @TeeShotMe
Where can people see your photography :
What made you want to create your blog , Tee Shot Me :
Well I came up with the name ‘Tee Shot Me’ as a sort of satire on ‘Kanye Taught me’; I just made it my own. I created my blog because I wanted to be able to post freely without creating clutter on my portfolio website.
Explain photography’s significance in your daily life :
I actually think in burst of images. When people speak to me their words are automatically transferred into images in my brain. I see the world in photographs. So I couldn’t really say explain the significance of photography in my daily life because it surpasses that. It is my daily life.
Who or what inspires you the most :
I can’t give a who, but people in general inspire me. I tend to work off the feelings of others. There’s so many different emotions that people express in this world, those are what drive my creativity. Feelings are only temporary. They can change in the blink of an eye. As long as people continue to express them any way they know how, it will continue to inspire me.
Where do you see yourself in the next five years :
I honestly can’t even tell you were I see myself 1 year from now. If I had to be optimistic I’d say Creative Director for several different magazines. There isn’t many predominate female African-American photographers on the scene. I just hope I become one of them by then.
Anyone that you would like to photograph in the future :
Tracee Ellis Ross, Tyler The Creator, Annie Leibovitz, Patrick Demarchelier, Danny Brown, Allan Kingdom, She’s Ryan and a bunch of up & coming artist.
Give your interpretation of what a “photographer” is :
There’s amateur photographers and then there’s professional photographers. I feel like amateur photographers have no desire to learn the technical aspect of photography, they just want to capture moments in time that interest them. Professional photographers crave the knowledge of how to capture a moment in time and compose it in a way that it will appeal to more than just self. Professional photographers want the viewers to construct a story from their images, not just look and compliment.
You actually don’t use the traditional SLR cameras. Explain what it’s like to work with film vs digital :
 I love shooting in film. I love the challenge of it and I love the textures. I have 27-35 frames rather than 525, so that means I have to capture the image I see correctly on the first try because my frames are limited and film is not cheap. It give’s minimal room for mistakes. With digital I tend to over shoot everything, which makes process of elimination harder. I also never do much post processing to my film work, maybe some slight color corrections. With my digital work I can be in post processing mode for hours.
Could you imagine your life w/o photography being a huge part of it :
Well photography is my life, so without it I’d probably be a depressed broke college student.
Any advice you want to give to aspiring photographers out there :
Don’t look at the work of others and allow yourself to become discouraged. No one’s vision is the same, just focus on perfecting yours.

Leave a comment